Highs And Lows

I’ve heard many stories from runners (mostly ultra runners) about all of the high and low points in long races. There is the physical side of it where your body performs just how you want it to right before it takes a dump and then springs back into shape just when you think it’s all over. There is also the psychological side of running as well that involves a lot of the same traits of the physical part, but more times then not the psychological part of it is what makes or breaks you in long races. Both of these are also present in our every day lives.

I know I’m not telling anyone anything new about how at some point in time in your lives you are going to be running high in the clouds and then encounter some of the worst things imaginable that might take both physical and psychological strength to work your way out of it. I myself have lived a life where I have been blessed to have experienced some amazing things that literally have taken my breath away and like so many others, I’ve gone through some rough times that I didn’t think I was ever going to recover from.

What I have learned is that our mind plays the biggest role in both the good and the bad and we control the outcome of our stories. Now you might be thinking, “we control every situation”, and my response would be, “about 99.9%”. There are always going to be things that are out of your hands as far as how things might accrue, but we get to choose how we react to them and how we are going to overcome the situation. The great things that happen in our lives are easy to experience. We usually live in those moments and let them control our emotions to the fullest. On the other hand sometimes we do the same thing with the bad things that happen to us.

When we let the bad experiences play the same role in our lives as the good ones, we sometimes open up a door that is hard and for some people impossible to recover from. I was one of the lucky ones that was so far down the rabbit hole that I couldn’t see the light and through a lot of hard work was able to get my head screwed on strait, so trust me when I say it can be done. Now there are physical setbacks that are sometimes worse then having a psychological one because nine times out of ten it screws you up mentally too. It’s what I call a double whammy.

The double whammy might be the toughest type of lows out there. An example of this that always sticks out in my mind are the men and women in our armed forces that come home missing arms, legs and in a lot of cases brain injuries. Some of these heroes are never able to recover, but the ones that do are stronger mentally then any normal person and any pro athlete on the planet. These men and women are the light at the end of the tunnel for the rest of us and give us hope that no matter how horrible the situation might be that there is the ability to overcome it and come out stronger then we were before.

In closing I want to reach out to anyone that might be struggling in some way in their lives and tell you that it can and will get better. You are stronger then you might think you are and never be afraid to ask for help. Asking for help was the best thing I ever did in my life.

JH

 

 

Leave a Reply

